Cancer, Interrupted: Garlic & Flavonoids



Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from his books, DVDs, and speaking go to charity).

DESCRIPTION: Garlic and flavonoid phytonutrients found in fruits, vegetables, greens, and grains appear to protect against DNA damage induced by mutagenic chemicals found in cooked meat. The prior garlic video I mentioned is #1 Anticancer Vegetable (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/1-anticancer-vegetable/) (one of the most popular videos on the site!). Make sure to also watch its “prequel” Veggies vs. Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/veggies-vs-cancer/). Other foods that may protect DNA include kiwifruit (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-and-dna-repair/), cruciferous vegetables (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dna-protection-from-broccoli/), green tea (see my last video http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-interrupted-green-tea/), and plants in general (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/repairing-dna-damage/).

Garlic beat out elephant garlic, but what about Carrots vs. Baby Carrots (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/carrots-vs-baby-carrots-2/)? Or raisins vs. currants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-healthiest-raisin-2/)?

Should garlic be raw or cooked? See How can I preserve the anti-cancer effects of cooked garlic? (http://nutritionfacts.org/questions/what-are-the-anti-cancer-effects-of-garlic/)

Which foods have the most flavonoids? See my cheat sheet (http://nutritionfacts.org/questions/which-foods-have-the-most-potassium/) to the USDA nutrient database.

Which foods have the most antioxidants? See my video series starting with Antioxidant Content of 3,139 Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-content-of-3139-foods/). What other dietary changes should we consider after a cancer diagnosis? See:
· Breast Cancer Survival and Lignan Intake (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-survival-and-lignan-intake/)
· Breast Cancer Survival and Soy (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-survival-and-soy/) (though Too Much Soy May Neutralize Benefits http://nutritionfacts.org/video/too-much-soy-may-neutralize-plant-based-benefits/)
· Breast Cancer Survival, Butterfat, and Chicken (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/breast-cancer-survival-butterfat-and-chicken/)
· Raw Broccoli and Bladder Cancer Survival (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/raw-broccoli-and-bladder-cancer-survival/)
· Lung Cancer Metastases and Broccoli (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/lung-cancer-metastases-and-broccoli/)
Amla Versus Cancer Cell Invasion (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amla-versus-cancer-cell-invasion/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cancer-interrupted-garlic-flavonoids/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NutritionfactsOrgMD
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast

Source: Cancer, Interrupted: Garlic & Flavonoids

IE Brunson Trying
The Iceberg Effect Free Book