Peppers and Parkinson’s: The Benefits of Smoking Without the Risks?



Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from his books, DVDs, and speaking go to charity).

DESCRIPTION: Might the nicotine content in nightshade vegetables—tomatoes, potatoes, eggplants, and bell peppers—protect against Parkinson’s disease?

Benefits of smoking? See the tobacco industry gloat in my previous video: Is Something in Tobacco Protective Against Parkinson’s Disease? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Is-something-in-tobacco-protective-against-parkinsons-disease)

Bell peppers may actually be healthiest raw. See Best Cooking Method (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-cooking-method/).

And if you eat tomato products, choose whole, crushed, or diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, purée, or paste. Why? See Inhibiting Platelet Activation with Tomato Seeds (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Inhibiting-Platelet-Activation-with-Tomato-Seeds).

My in-depth video series on the Mediterranean Diet can be found here for those interested:
• Why Was Heart Disease Rare in the Mediterranean? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Why-Was-Heart-Disease-Rare-in-the-Mediterranean)
• The Mediterranean Diet or a Whole Food Plant-Based Diet? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/The-Mediterranean-Diet-or-a-Whole-Food-Plant-Based-Diet)
• PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes? (http://nutritionfacts.org/videos/predimed-does-eating-nuts-prevent-strokes)
• Which Parts of the Mediterranean Diet Extended Life? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-parts-of-the-mediterranean-diet-extended-life)
• Do Flexitarians Live Longer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-flexitarians-live-longer)
• Improving on the Mediterranean Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/improving-on-the-mediterranean-diet)
• Mediterranean Diet and Atherosclerosis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/mediterranean-diet-and-atherosclerosis)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/peppers-and-parkinsons-the-benefits-of-smoking-without-the-risks and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

Source: Peppers and Parkinson’s: The Benefits of Smoking Without the Risks?

IE Free Blueprint
The Iceberg Effect Free Book